PNBHS NEWS

Old Boys, Scott Gray talks at Head Prefect's Assembly

Picture of Dominic King
Old Boys, Scott Gray talks at Head Prefect's Assembly
by Dominic King - Tuesday, 2 April 2019, 11:51 AM

Presentation by Old Boy Scott Gray 

scott1 “I'm Lieutenant Scott Gray, currently the Executive Officer of Wellington East Coast Squadron, Queen Alexandra's Mounted Rifles. We are the premium warfighting unit of the NZ Army, and longest serving unit, being formed in 1864. QAMR is the Armoured Regiment of the NZ Army, consisting of 2 Sabre Squadrons of NZLAV. 

I was a student at Palmy Boys from 2010- 2014. Wasn't a high achiever or anything, and wasn't someone much for School in all honesty, but I had a goal in life and that was to become an Officer in the NZ Army. In 2014 I applied to become a General List Officer in the NZ Army. After passing my testing and Officer Selection board, I then attended the Officer Cadet School of New Zealand. OCS NZ is a one year course that takes you from civilian to junior officer. Within this year I deployed to Brunei for our Jungle Phase and Australia for our final testing phase. I then graduated at the end of 2015 into the Royal New Zealand Armoured Corps. 

In 2016 I attended my Corps coursing including my Infantry Platoon Commanders Course, NZLAV Crew Commander Course and NZLAV Troop Leaders course. By the end of October 2016, I was qualified to command up to 6x NZLAV's with a platoon of infantry in any operating environment. This year was one of the best of my career having gone through challenging testing and finally being able to work with professional soldiers outside of the OCS environment.