Picture of Gerard Atkin
Relay for Life
by Gerard Atkin - Friday, 28 February 2020, 1:36 PM

Fundraising efforts for Relay for Life continued today.  Thank you to the young men and staff who supported the work of our Prefects.

Picture of Gerard Atkin
Presentation of Prefect's Ties
by Gerard Atkin - Friday, 28 February 2020, 1:34 PM

The 2020 Prefects met last night to continue their planning and organisation for the year ahead. They were also formally presented with their Prefect's ties. Thank you to the parents and guardians who made the time to attend the function. Your support of your sons and our school is greatly appreciated.

Picture of Gerard Atkin
Barrowclough Award 2020
by Gerard Atkin - Friday, 28 February 2020, 12:48 PM


Picture of Gerard Atkin
DELF Scolaire examinations
by Gerard Atkin - Friday, 28 February 2020, 10:35 AM

At the end of August 2019, a number of our students sat the French DELF Scolaire examinations. This is an internationally recognised and accredited four-levelled qualification that tests listening, reading, speaking and writing. This examination gives our students an extension to NCEA and a qualification that could enable them to study in a French university.

The official certificates have now arrived from France and were presented at assembly this morning.

The following students gained the A1, the first level of the examination: Payton Bamfield 90.5%, Sean Foote 79%, Rohan Kanagasundarum 90.5%, and Matt Watson 85%. Hughin Ross-Veale and Michael Watkins were successful in the A2 examination with 62.5% and 73% respectively. These students are to be congratulated on their success in challenging examinations.

Picture of Ella Mitchell
PNBHS 1st XI VS St Pat’s Silverstream 1st XI - Traditional 1 Day Match
by Ella Mitchell - Friday, 28 February 2020, 9:29 AM

PNBHS 1st XI VS St Pat’s Silverstream 1st XI - Traditional 1 Day Match

After electing to bat first, the PNBHS opening batsmen made a steady start, advancing to 50 in the first 10 overs. They continued in this vein, eventually putting up a first wicket partnership of 106. This allowed numbers 3 and 4 to come in and make the most of an ageing ball and tiring bowling attack. They did this superbly, with a 3rd wicket partnership of 171. Jaiden Meyer continued his rich form and Curtis Heaphy cashed in with his maiden century for the 1st XI, taking Boys’ High to 282 for 4 from their allotted 50 overs. Josh Campbell scored 37, Lachie Bradford 38, Jaiden Meyer 59 not out and Curtis Heaphy 104 from 74 balls.

After the break, the PNBHS bowlers and fielders took up where the batsmen left off. They put the opposition batsmen under pressure and, after picking up 2 wickets in the 2nd over, the writing was on the wall. The Boys’ High opening bowlers were irresistible as they claimed the first seven wickets between them, and the change bowlers soon mopped up the rest. St Pat’s succumbed to be all out for 55 in 16 overs. Hunter Morrison took 2 for 9, Thomas Kirk 3 for 16 and Angus Lyver 4 for 25.

A comprehensive win to the PNBHS 1st XI by 227 runs.

Picture of Gerard Atkin
5,000m Championship
by Gerard Atkin - Friday, 28 February 2020, 8:16 AM

Athletics 5000m Results 


1st – William Leong             Kia Ora      16.54

2nd – Thomas Harding         Murray      18.12

3rd – Ewan Cousins             Albion       18.28


1st – Nelson Doolan             Pheonix    16.57

2nd – Sam Stichbury            Kia Ora      17.07

3rd – Fergus Doolan            Pheonix    17.36


1st – Rueben Duker             Gordon     18.09

2nd – Charlie Hook               Kia Ora      19.05

3rd-    Jonty Giesen              Murray      20:48

Picture of Gerard Atkin
5,000m Championship
by Gerard Atkin - Friday, 28 February 2020, 7:43 AM

Fantastic to have a large field on the track early this morning to contest the 5,000m Championship.

Picture of Gerard Atkin
Academic Tutoring
by Gerard Atkin - Thursday, 27 February 2020, 2:32 PM

Thank you to Prefect Paul Lee who spoke at assembly this morning about the academic tutoring programme. Paul explained the benefits to the tutors - cementing subject knowledge and building interpersonal skills - as well as tutoring being a good opportunity to provide service to the school and to support your peers. Any young men in Years 12 and 13 who would like to be a tutor are asked to give their names to Mrs. Shorter in the Student Support Centre. Further information about the academic tutoring programme will be provided in the coming weeks.

Picture of Ella Mitchell
by Ella Mitchell - Thursday, 27 February 2020, 12:19 PM



Please check for your name below for any Athletics finals you may be in.  

Picture of Ella Mitchell
by Ella Mitchell - Thursday, 27 February 2020, 11:10 AM