McVicar Cup

Picture of Ella Mitchell
McVicar Cup
by Ella Mitchell - Wednesday, 6 December 2017, 9:29 AM

McVicar Cup

The Year 9 Specials won the toss and elected to bat in their McVicar Cup Final against the Year 10 Specials. After losing an early wicket, the Year 9's worked their way through to 34/1 in the 12th over before a top order collapse and the key wickets of Jonty Fleck and Curtis Heaphy 28 left the side 54/4. Campbell Woolley 35 took the field on and played some lofty drives as the Year 9's reached 106/4 before a loss of concentration and poor shot selection saw the team bowled out for 128 in the 37th over. Kalani Rhodes 4-22, Villi Vakapuna 3-16  and Zac Farmer 2-12 off 7 the pick of the Year 10 bowlers.

In reply, the Year 10 Specials found themselves in deep trouble at 7/4 in the 6th over as Angus Lyver who finished with 4-12 and Callum Kennett 2-24 knocked over the top order.

The Year 10's battled hard to stay in the game thanks largely to Tiwha Rukuwai 26 off 37 balls and Josh Tamblyn 34 n.o off 84 balls. However, Michael Watkins bowling left arm Chinaman continued his impressive form with 2-11 off his 8 overs. Once Charlie Lourie was dismissed for 16 the Year 10's folded for 111 all out in the 39th over.

An impressive win for the Year 9 Specials by 17 runs.

It is also the first time since 2011 that the Year 9 Specials have won the McVicar Cup and deservedly so.